Stuck on Go


Getting stuck in a holding pattern is something I fight with a lot. You say “Next year will be better.” or my favorite, “Once I graduate I will have time to do everything.”, when the fact is you could be doing that now and not really have to do much to accomplish it.

Last year was my enlightenment year about being stuck. I realized I had been putting off going different places because I did not want to travel alone or I wanted to go there with a significant other. Well, I did not want to wait the year or more that finding a significant other would take. I wanted to travel while I could. Which was now!

So… I started planning a trip to Seattle, Washington simply because I wanted to go. I talked with parents and friends about it and managed to get my best friend to go with me. We had a blast and learned we traveled well together so now I am planning a trip to London and Scotland next year. Earlier this year I went on vacation by myself for a week when no one could go with me. I still had a good time. I have been putting off going places for fears that never came true. I thought I would hate being alone the whole week and there were days I did not have a lot of fun but there were other days that were amazing. Plus since I was alone I could do whatever I wanted. I drove to North Carolina two days in a row just to go to this small beach town I found by accident one day. I doubt I would have done that if I had been with someone else.

So now I am picking one place I want to see every year, no matter where it is and I am going.

My other hang up is the eternal “When I finish school…” refrain. Well, I finish school in December so I have no excuse not to start doing all the things I want to do. Like taking dance lessons at night, or learning how to bind books, or taking my bike for a spin just because I want to. My want to do list is about to get a lot shorter 🙂

Check out the article that started this rant here (http://viewfromwitsend.wordpress.com/?p=1412).

