Lesson Learned

Prompt: Lesson learned. What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward?

I know this prompt is about what we learned this year but what I am really thinking about with this is what I am going to learn in the coming year. I am going to have a ton of time free in the afternoons and I want to take some classes. The question is, classes in What?

I love to dance and want to get some coordination back so this would be good but I am easily embarrassed in those kind of situations so I am not sure about taking dance classes, especially since I would not have a partner. That and I am the proverbial white child dancing. There are several small schools downtown where I could do classes.

I love painting and art and have been eying several art classes at a local evening art school. It teaches a little of everything, from painting and photography, to knitting, to working with clay or weaving baskets. The classes are once or twice a week over 6 to 8 weeks in the evening.

I am also looking at taking an extra lesson a week or leasing a horse during the week for two days each week. I spoke with my instructor about leasing a horse and she has told me about it but does not seem to be pushing this. I do not think she has enough lesson horses to really do this since I would be removing one of her lesson horses two days a week.

I could get my dog into lessons so that I could start walking her in the afternoons again. Two years ago she was attacked while I walked her outside at my condo by a loose dog. It happened again a year later. Since then she has been super aggressive with other dogs while on a leash. I have all but stopped walking her because she twice broke her harness to go after other dogs, leading to the second attack. I have had to literary pick her up and carry her away from the other dogs, barking the whole way. But she is 13 years old. I am not sure the lessons will do much. She no longer likes to do the 6 mile walks we used to do so I am not sure how much we would be doing long walks anyway. With all the loose dogs in my neighborhood I cannot walk her there and we have to drive to the canal or park to walk, where there are a ton of other dogs on leashes. Add to that that she hates the car and it is a no go situation. Not sure about this at all.

I could take lessons in an instrument… but I have not played anything since the beginning of high school before the school band was shut down.

There are a ton of options. What would you learn if you had the time?

Image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/splorp/4951929032/

