New Name

Prompt: New name. Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why?

I honestly am not sure. I am known as Amy by friends and family and as Amelia by school friends and coworkers. For a while a woman at the barn was convinced Amy and Amelia were two separate people so she began calling me Amy Amelia to keep it straight.

I am a writing and the one thing I generally hate doing is naming characters. I hate to say it but all the men start out as Richard and all the women are Sara or Lorn.

Lorn or Lorna was my first character I wrote. She was the alter ego that snipes at me in my head. She was everything I was not. Pretty, out going, secretive and mysterious, confident and a leader. She wore her scars on her skin for everyone to see while I hide mine. She was comfortable in her skin and wore whatever she liked while I was still trying to play the social game and fit in (still am some days). She spoke several languages and had traveled the globe, both alone and with friends, at the time I had never been out of the South. She was worldly and popular without needing to be popular, I was the geek in the back of the class that was never picked for anything… ever, yet I still wanted to be one of the cool kids.

I have met people who did the things I always wanted to do and it made me realize that the only thing keeping me from doing them was me and my need to hold on to the expectations of family and everyone else around me. This is my year to reject the stereotypes and do what I want. While I need to think on what my new name should be for now I think I need to embrace what my name means right now.

 

Amelia

 

The name Amelia is a baby girl name. The name Amelia comes from the English origin. In English The meaning of the name Amelia is: Industrious. Striving.

 

