Potato Lasagna

Potato with sprouts. Russet variety. About 10 ...

Image via Wikipedia

Potato Lasagna

I hate when I have a recipe flop. It was a great idea that could still be great with some tweaking.

Ingredients

  • Potatoes, peeled and sliced into thin rounds. I used a mandolin to do mine.
  • Tomato sauce
  • Feta
  • Diced tomatoes, I used canned with green peppers and onions.
  • Parmesan, shredded
  • ricotta cheese
  • Mixed Italian cheese, shredded
  • chicken, diced
  • pancetta ham, diced
  • diced, frozen spinach
  • Herb de province

I alternated the ingredients with layers of potato rounds getting about 4 layers out of four large baking potatoes. I think this would have been better using a red potato. I baked at 350 degrees F for one hour.

For some reason I was convinced that I could not add milk or cream to this because of the acid in the tomatoes. I now think this is the problem with this recipe. I wanted it to be creamy and rich and instead it was soupy and rather blah.

I may attempt this again using cream or milk to balance everything out. Also I would have marinated the chicken or replaced it with ground sausage. Adding a bit of pasta such as orzo might have been good too.

3 thoughts on “Potato Lasagna

  1. It’s good that you tried something new. Not every attempt is a winner, sadly. I cannot use the beef/pork/veal meatloaf mix to make a successful meatloaf. No matter how hard I try. In terms of original recipes, I have failed several times, it happens.

Comments are closed.