The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby (via jan jacob photography blog)

Stacking books until...

Image by Alexandre Dulaunoy via Flickr

Love this post.

I have several books that just personified what I was going through at different times of my life and I go back to themover and over again. These are my comfort books that I pull out when my world is turned upside down and I am trying to crawl out of the pit I have gotten myself into.

Solitaire by Kelley Eskridge is one of these.

The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby Have you every held a book in your hands so perfectly written and somehow so appropriate to your present circumstance that after reading a certain passage you find yourself over come by a desire to hug that book while reminiscing about what you have just read as though it were a fond yet distance memory of a special time in your life? I have this all the time; and not just with the Bible either. I am talking about Charles Dickens and, most recent … Read More

via jan jacob photography blog

4 thoughts on “The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby (via jan jacob photography blog)

  1. Yes, the Invisibles by Grant Morrison and various artists totally captured and destroyed my immaturity. Cat’s Cradle and Breakfast of Champions too at their times. I can read them now and find the lessons that helped shape my thoughts and actions and helped me to feel like I was not alone. My dad said Catch-22 did that for him.

  2. Wow. Thanks very much indeed. It’s one of the things I hope for most — that some who read the book will want to make Jackal and her story a part of themselves in some way. That the story will live on for people beyond the pages of the book. It certainly does for me, and it means a great deal to know that it does for you too.

Comments are closed.