Lessons From a Life on the Move (via A Clean Surface.)

My goal is to have a home that I could drop everything and be able to move in a week if I wanted to. I want the freedom of being able to say I live that light. That I could do without most of the things I own.

I had a discussion about what I would grab if my house was on fire with my friend Lisa last week. She had several answers. I was stumped. Beyond my dog and wallet, I have no idea what I would want to save. Yes, there are things I would be sad to lose but I could live without them.

I tend to be the kind of person who gets rid of things. Mementos that others carry around for the rest of their life get tossed by me. I stunned a friend when I told him I had tossed my school year books. I am currently in touch with 1 person from said year books. Why would I keep them?

I run items through my head, the jewelry I have been given, handed down quilts, crystal…and if there was a fire raging I would leave all of it and grab just me and my dog.

One of the clearing clutter tips I try to live by is to pretend that you are moving overseas. You have to get everything pared down to a set number of bags and the furniture has to be pared down to what you cannot live without.  Could you leave 90% of your belongings and move somewhere? I think I could. Would I curse everything the first month? Probably, but I know I would get over it and move on.

I recently did a house wide clean and purge of items. I do this several times a year and keep a “Toss” box sitting in one room. As I go through each room anything I can grab that I can see myself possibly getting rid of goes in the box. If after a month or two I can live without it then it gets donated or sent to the garbage.

This time I went through my books and movies, tossing the ones I knew I would never watch or read again. I then took them to a new thrift store in town and got store credit for more books later. I plan to keep doing this with my books. The store is massive and has a great selection. I picked up a French dictionary and a book on learning French for 5 dollars while I was there.  This is one of my life list items, learn a language and about the culture of one country. Since I am planning to visit Paris, I thought French would be a good language to look at. I doubt I will ever get fluent since I have no one to speak to but it would be good to have a bit of a base line when I do manage to go.

Lessons From a Life on the Move I am approaching my tenth move in sixteen years. Those are my own moves, rather than moves I have helped with, although there have been some of those as well. What have I learned from all of this moving? I learned to expect to move again, no matter how contented I might feel in a given location. I learned to be prepared. I realized that the next move was guaranteed to arrive sooner than I would like, and I learned that certain choices made while … Read More

via A Clean Surface.

4 thoughts on “Lessons From a Life on the Move (via A Clean Surface.)

  1. No way. I love my books and comics. I love my momentos, memories and bits of items I’ve gathered. I can’t imagine pulling up stakes and moving in a moment if i had to. With pets, clothes, books, movies, games, etc, it would be insane.

  2. Yes, but what would you grab if the house was burning? Add some essentials to this and you have your base that you could build off of if you had to.

Comments are closed.