Need for Change

Bulldozed road, Tarmach Cairn. No "Tarmac...

Image via Wikipedia

Why is it so hard to break free of a life that’s good enough to pursue the life we truly long for? We like to think these things are complicated, but the root cause is pretty simple: change is hard, so we tend to put it off until it becomes urgent. When the time comes to change, it becomes an overpowering presence; something that must be resolved one way or another. Maya Angelou put it this way:

The need for change bulldozed a road down the center of my mind.

Love this. The need for change bulldozed a road down the center of my mind. I get this all too often. I get what I call “Itchy feet” since I cannot hit the road and abandon what I have in job/home/family/friends right now but man do I want to some days.

