Selfish

BirdinhandAll too often I imagine that I leave a chorus of complaints and ridicule behind me when I leave a room. An overheard complaint from a coworker becomes a rant against me. Why must I imagine the world revolving around me?
I know I am an insignificant speck in a sea of dust.
What I do will not change the color of the dust around me anymore than anyone else does.
I want to hold onto my corner of the world and yell until someone truly sees me, but yelling accomplishes nothing.
I know I give up too readily.
I am not a perfectionist and “good enough to serve” is a good enough motto for the time.
I see what others do and say “I could do that.” but I never do.
When I suck it up and commit myself I enjoy the ride yet it is so exhausting to maintain the momentum.
I strive to live in the moment and instead I live for my comfort alone.

One thought on “Selfish

  1. What’s wrong with living for comfort? I dunno, I become satisfied too easily instead of fighting and striving for something, but is that bad? Is complacency bad? Is satisfaction bad? It’s a question I ask myself all the time.

Comments are closed.