Apple Butter

I planned to do a test run of a batch of apple butter last weekend using the recipe below but ran into a slew of problems.

http://www.tastingtable.com/entry_detail/chefs_recipes/15036

Did I make apple butter? Yes.

Just not the exact recipe above. Some how I was missing a ton of spices I was sure I had. No cardamom, no lemon grass.
Instead I added about half a cup of crystallized ginger slices and two cinnamon sticks.
Somehow instead of pomegranate juice I bought pom-cherry juice.

Shrug. The end result is still delicious.
I used an immersion blender instead of a food processor since I don’t have one of those or a blender. Yes, the state of my tiny kitchen is looking rather sad at the moment.

4 thoughts on “Apple Butter

  1. Yum! That looks amazing! I like your addition and changes. I have a food processor and a blender, but still tend to use the immersion because it’s easier.

Comments are closed.